Panel Discussion (Oct. 24 and Oct. 31)

24.

392896-vlcsnap_2011_04_17_11h28m28s64

I was a bit late to start writing this post because I didn’t feel like talking much about it. Nothing new happened. I was late for my Study Skills Session and I missed it, unfortunately (but my friends were good enough to fill me in on what I’d missed), and went straight to the main one.

As it turned out, it wasn’t a lecture but a panel discussion. All the three previous lecturers plus Theo Humphries were there, giving a brief summary of the lectures with time for questions after that. Not that people asked any… I have the feeling no one likes to be the center of attention of so many people and they doubt their questions are important enough. It kind of lost its meaning as a discussion because it wasn’t really one.

But then again, it was good to refresh our memory of the previous lectures. It was probably quite helpful for the people who’ve missed some of them. Also, Theo took some time to talk about some things like What do academics do?  and stuff about the dissertation. He also didn’t fail to stress that he had to read the Handbook because it has everything we need to know in it.

31.

iOJXjpj14UO4That day there was a strike and most the lecturers were going to be in it so we couldn’t have the lectures as planned. The main one was postponed for a later date as were the Study Skill Sessions. It turned out that I didn’t have to go in at all and I had a beautiful calm day in town. You’re probably thinking doesn’t she have those in the weekend already?  Well, not really. The point was that it was a weekday, a working day, so the whole vibe of the experience changes.

I’m happy to say that I finished my Tank Girl Halloween costume and I bought some comics to pass the time with. The non-academic productivity was off the charts.

Leave a Reply

