life drawing 9/2/15

IMG_6694
five 5-minute poses, charcoal on paper (A2)

IMG_6696
five 5-minute poses, orange chalk on paper (A2)

IMG_6698
three 20-minute poses, crimson and violet chalk on paper (A1)

Once again, I was so happy I went to life drawing. I am very happy with these and my slowly growing collection of sketches.

I started off with the charcoal as I feel it works best with large quick sketches but then I found some leftover orange chalk on one of the empty easels. I was a bit uneasy at first as I wouldnt usually use this colour, but then it felt like that specific orange fit perfectly. It got too strenuous for my eyes though so at the start of the first 20-minute pose (at the front) I went to the box of scraps and found a beautiful whole crimson chalk and right next to it was this pale cold violet, same as the drapes, same as the time when I was sketching that skeleton… so I just took them instinctively and that was that.

For some reason I feel like the female body is much easier to draw than the male. I will be focusing on it more closely from now on, to get that line flowing.

1 thought on “life drawing 9/2/15”

Leave a Reply

