final Charity Project presentation / final idea

Slide1 This was my final presentation for the charity brief, containing parts of my latest research and the development of my idea towards a finalised piece. As I was verbally explaining most of it this might not make sense but I hope the captions will be helpful enough for you (the random viewer) to understand.

Slide2
a bit of insight on my idea for a final piece (an installation) and some of the questions I want to explore with it
Slide3
pills in art, some of the artworks I came across during my research online (all can be found on my Pinterest page Ideas & Research)
Slide4
after the last tutorial Anna wrote as a suggestion note that I should look at Damien Hirst’s work. I am very pleased to say that I actually went to his exhibition at Tate back in 2012 and even though these images look quite descriptive, being there and experiencing the installations in person was very different and quite an interesting experience.
Slide5
some more work I discovered through Pinterest. I admire the simple use of colour and the juxtaposition of elements in the composition as well as the contrast between foreground and background on the cover artwork (left)
Slide6
that was actually what led me to these – curtain-like bead strings. they perfectly embody the transparency and the hindrance of pharmaceuticals.
Slide7
through some deeper research towards that curtain idea I discovered some artwork by Susie Freeman, one of the creators of Pharmacopoeia… it turned out that most of the ideas I was trying to engage with for this project have already been intensely worked on. I had solid ground to build upon – an idea to take further.
Slide8
what I came up with was simple – a corridor installation made up of separate pill curtains. this is a rough sketch of what it looks like in my head.
Slide9
“a maze of half-curtains of different-sized, differently placed pills” it’s as simple as. every pill influences the body in a specific way and is felt in a specific way by the one who consumes it. according to that each pill curtain will be different in the size and arrangement of its components.
Slide10
I was considering adding some information on the side in a little pocket, where people could take leaflets if they are interested to find out more. I imagined little cards with an illustration of the pill and a little information and useful links on the back but at this stage this is an extra I could do without.
Slide11
as I was stuck with the project for about a week (and that’s before the extension of our deadline so i had no time to be stuck, really) in the end I just went with my intuition and just produced the artwork that’s been adding up in a little folder inside my head that I could no longer ignore. I needed to clear up some space up there and these were the perfect product of my frustration and my confused creative flow.
Slide12
in the end I constructed a little “plan of action” which is purely suggestive. by contacting tutors from both universities (Chris was pretty insistent that I speak to people in Cardiff University’s School of Pharmacology) I will gain objective and specific information that I otherwise wouldn’t have access to and I will also have the ground for future work on the project.

I was trying to be as descriptive and informative during my presentation and I was generally worried about the feedback. As everyone else on our course had already settled on either a short animation or a series of posters I felt a bit odd, trying to get my installation across.

But no matter what, I believe that this is the best way to communicate my idea, undoubtedly raise awareness and ultimately make people question their own dependencies and pharmaceutical needs. As someone who has been treated with homeopathy my entire life, I can firmly say that there is always a different way to cure ourselves from illnesses and stay healthy without the use of antibiotics (doesn’t the word worry you even a bit? anti + bio ; aren’t we “bio” as well?).

I will be building a small maquet (or making a series of illustrations/sketches), depicting my idea in a more realistic way, easier to pitch to potential supporters.

I was very pleased with the feedback from the presentation (by tutors and peers) especially with the comment that in a way this is “more of an MA project than a BA one”. That really lifted my spirits and inspired me to work on this project even harder, especially since it could potentially really go live. How exciting is that?

Slide13

Leave a Reply

