beach sketching

Some fascinations from the Bulgarian seaside during my last visit back home. I thought I might practice life drawing with things I found on the beach. I wanted to relate these sketches to my sea-inspired drawings from earlier in the summer – shells, feathers, seashells, etc. After drawing each one, I’d stick the object in question next to the drawing and write a little journal entry on the other side.

I’ve always been in love with the feeling of standing right at the edge of the beach, where the waves wash over your feet and then recede back with a woosh and a curvy trail of watery sand. That inspired the time-passing-type drawing underneath.

summer 001
‘wave after wave’
summer 002
‘shell’
summer 003
‘feather’
summer 004
‘rapana’
Leave a Reply

