animation: stage O

A couple of months ago I had a tutorial with Georgina very much out of the blue. We had a short chat in which I was mainly explaining my idea and what I was planning on doing. I was quite busy with writing my dissertation at the time so I wasn’t exactly prepared. Still she seemed impressed to see how clear my direction was and it looked like she wasn’t quite certain what advice or suggestions to give me.

Still she noted that my idea might work really well in animation.

I hurried to turn it down as I hadn’t done animation before and I could clearly see the amounts of work to be done.

How foolish.

Looking back now, it feels like it was a hint of sorts, that I’ll have to do it whether I like it or not. To be fair, animation is one of the first major influences of my life and it’s something I wanted to do for quite a while before I decided I prefer illustration. Why I felt skeptical to do something I love and appreciate so much baffles me.

So now that I’ve finally come to terms with my imminent social death, I’ve started working on the sequence for a Slavic creation myth. The most interesting thing about it  is that I have to explain ‘this is Slavic’ to people. I should stop at one point and ask, ‘which culture do you think this came from?’ the process of ‘breaking it’ to people might be more successful than the animation itself…

well here’s the first test piece I did at the start of last week…. just to see if I’m on the right track….

output_3MJS2J
wake up to create the golden egg out of which Rod comes out with love to create the World….

this obviously has a long way to go before anything becomes out of it. whooooooooop. so ready for this.

Leave a Reply

