post-diss havoc

Funny thing, to fall ill as soon as you hand in the work which has been sucking your soul for so long… it only makes sense. I went through about 10 days of being in bed, unable to move or focus on much, not even able to create the artwork I’d been craving to do for so long. Stress is a serious issue, and my body had had enough of it – I am only thankful that it happened after I was finished with the dissertation, rather than during.

Even though recovery took me a while, I had ideas whirling in my head for days before I actually started doing anything about them. There were a lot of things to start thinking about – the final degree show, my course project, animation, and the exhibition we’re doing in Bristol around the start of April being just a few of them.

The return to my project after such a long period of focusing on something so different was confusing to say the least. I had to reacquaint myself with my own work – a strange experience. It allowed me a different perspective and I noticed several things which I needed to work on, which I otherwise wouldn’t have. It’s safe to say that things are once again in full motion, even though the project has changed in some ways.

The most important thing is… I’m drawing again. I’m being actively creative, and producing work, which was one of the bigger stress fuels of the several months leading up to the start of February. Since then, I’ve done more than I thought I would have, yet there is still so much to work on.

 

‘curled up in a dream’

Β Dreams have become an ultimate source of inspiration for the artwork I have been doing in the past month. Joseph Campbell once compared myths and dreams and that stuck with me in a way that not many things do.

“Dream is the personalized myth, myth is the depersonalized dream; both myth and dream are symbolic in the same general way of the dynamic of the psyche. But in the dream the forms are quirked by the peculiar troubles of the dreamer, whereas in myth the problems and solutions sown are directly valid for all mankind.”
– Joseph Campbell, The Hero with a Thousand Faces

Leave a Reply

